

# Agenda Item 3

## **Minutes of the Licensing Committee**

## 27<sup>th</sup> May, 2011 at 10.00am at the Sandwell Council House, Oldbury

**Present:** Councillor Rouf (Chair);

Councillor E A Giles (Vice-Chair);

Councillors P Davies, Dhallu, A Hughes,

Randhawa, Tagger and Tranter.

**Apologies:** Councillors Piper and Silvester.

### 1/11 Minutes

**Resolved** that the minutes of the meeting held on 25<sup>th</sup> October 2010, be approved as a correct record.

## 2/11 **Establishment of Licensing Panels**

The Committee considered a report indicating that under the provisions of the Licensing Act 2003, the Licensing Committee may establish one or more Licensing Sub-Committees (referred to in this Council as Panels) to assist in the discharge of the licensing functions under that Act. Certain functions of the Gambling Act 2005 were also discharged by these Panels.

The Licensing Act 2003 specified that each Sub-Committee (Panel) should consist of three members of the Licensing Committee.

#### **Resolved:**

- (1) that four Licensing Panels be established, each comprising three members of the Licensing Committee;
- (2) that members be appointed to those Panels, and that a Chair be appointed to each Panel, as indicated below:

# <u>Licensing Committee – 27<sup>th</sup> August, 2010</u>

### Panel 1

Councillor Allen (Chair); Councillors A Hughes and Silvester.

#### Panel 2

Councillor Allen (Chair); Councillors P Davies and Piper.

### Panel 3

Councillor Allen (Chair); Councillors Hinton and Tranter.

### Panel 4

Councillor E A Giles (Chair); Councillors Dhallu and Grainger.

### **Reserve Members**

Councillors Randhawa and Tagger.

(3) that the Director of Legal and Governance Services, in consultation with the Chair of the Licensing Committee, be authorised to select replacement members from the Licensing Committee as necessary to serve on Licensing Panels to ensure a quorum should a named member not be available for a meeting or unable to consider a particular case due to a conflict of interest.

(The meeting ended at 10.35 am)

Contact Officer: Amy Simcox Democratic Services Unit 0121 569 3736